## FACULTY SENATE MINUTES April 24, 2008

The Faculty Senate of the University of North Alabama met April 24, 3008 in the Faculty/Staff Commons of the University Center at 3:30 p.m.

President Turner called the meeting to order and recognized the following proxies:

Will Verrone for Senator Peterson from English, Diane Berry for Senator Summy from Kilby School, Tom Osborne for Senator Rieff from History/Political Science, and Scott Infanger for Senator Adler from Foreign Language.

President Turner welcomed the newly elected senators:

Nicholas Mauriello from English, Tim Carter from Criminal Justice, David Nickels from CIS, Joy Brown from Secondary Education, Marilyn Lee from Nursing, Ian Loeppky from Music, Darlene Townsend from Collier Library, Lynne Rieff from History/Political Science, Pat Roden from Mathematics/Computer Science, John Turner from Art, Mike Hall from Health and Physical Education, and Bruce Gordon from Economics and Finance.

Senator Richardson moved the adoption of the agenda. Senator Bates seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Senator Ferry moved the approval of the April 10, 2008 minutes with the change to item C under Old Business to read: Senator Adams moved that the Faculty Affairs Committee be charged with including language in the promotion policy as that used with tenure and explore developing an assessment tool including criteria for the evaluation of applicants in the tenure/promotion process. Senator Statom seconded. The motion passed.

President Cale welcomed the new senators and stated that he is looking forward to working with

## **NEW BUSINESS:**

A. The following were elected as 2008-2009 senate officers: Larry Bates – President Ray Atencio – President-elect Pat Roden – Secretary Doris McDaniel – Executive Board Member John Turner – Past President Ruth Dumas – Executive Board Member Wendy Darby – Executive Board Member Jerry Ferry – Executive Board Member

B. Election of Shared Governance Committee Members:

Academic & Student Affairs	Doug Barrett	Faculty at large
Academic & Student Affairs	David Muse	Faculty at large
Animal Care & Use	Andy Taylor	Faculty at large
Animal Care & Use	Lisa Clayton	Faculty at large
Athletic	Cynthia Burkhead	Faculty at large
Distance Learning Advisory	Bruce Gordon	Business
Distance Learning Advisory	Larry Adams	A & S
Faculty/Staff Welfare	Nick Mauriello	Faculty at large
Faculty/Staff Welfare	Rick Lester	Faculty at large
Faculty/Staff Welfare	Janice Myhan	Faculty at large
Graphic Standards & Web Page	Bruce Gordon	Faculty at large
Human Subjects	Vicky Hulsey	Education
Human Subjects	Martha Rock	Nursing
Human Subjects	Marilyn Lee	Primary concern nonscientific area
Infrastructure Development	Pat Roden	Faculty at large
Institutional Effectiveness	Phil Bridgemon	A & S
Institutional Effectiveness	Tonja Blackstone	Business
International Programs/Offerings	Alex Takeuchi	Business
Multicultural Advisory	Ernestine Davis	Nursing
Multicultural Advisory	Alyce Brown	Nursing
Parking & Traffic	Philip Oliver	Faculty at large
Parking & Traffic	Mark Lawrence	Faculty at large
Research	Mark Puckett	Faculty at large
Safety & Emergency Prep.	Megan Pinch	Art
Safety & Emergency Prep.	Scott Infanger	Faculty at large
Shared Governance	Linda Armstrong	Faculty at large
Shared Governance	Jim Couch	Faculty at large
Shared Governance	Terry Richardson	A & S
Strategic Planning/Budget Study	Brenda Webb	Faculty at large
Student Financial Services	Katie Kenny	Faculty at large